Vegetarian with bacon, please

music to read by :: True Vegetarian (Clint Eastwood and General Saint)

Now, before some people get all up my business about this, I was a vegetarian for many, many years. And for a brief moment in time, also vegan.

Then I was pregnant and all bets were off.

And yes, I know, it is possible to be vegetarian, pregnant, and healthy. But not if you were me.

Because, you see, from about 4 weeks to the very morning I went into labour, I had morning sickness.

Except let’s call it … oh, I don’t know … hey! I’m awake sickness! Seriously, I weighed less at full term that I did prior to becoming pregnant.

But because I made the decision to eat meat and consume dairy I managed to stay somewhat healthy and consume enough of what my daughter needed to pop out at close to 9lbs, and grow to be almost as tall as I am  – at 9yo.

One of my favourite vertical moments from the pregnancy, was eating out with friends. The hubby ordered a vegetarian burger – with bacon. The cook came to our table before preparing our food to verify the order and to check to see if my husband was sane. His response to the cook was, “hey, you make a damn good veggie burger and I like bacon.”

Vegetarian Pizza with Bacon

Dough
This is a quick and easy dough that requires no rising. So yay! Pizza can be an anytime meal! Also, I have no counter space, so I make this (and all my bread products, frankly) in one bowl, with no turning out for kneading. You’ll need ….

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 1/4 tsp yeast (0r one package)
  • 2 tbsp veg oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 cup warm water (hot from the tap, is fine)

Put the yeast in a large bowl (glass or ceramic), and add the salt, sugar, and oil. Mix it all together.

Add your warm/hot water and stir. Add in 1 cup of flour and mix. I use a silicone spoon/scrape-y thing in order to keep the sides as clean as possible.

Add a second cup of flour and mix in for a few minutes, then dive in with your hand. It’s often wise to dust your hand with flour first.

Add the third cup of flour, bit by bit, kneading with your hand. Once the dough is firm enough to lift, add the flour by sprinkling to the bottom of the bowl

When the dough is smooth and elastic, it’s ready to use. Using the dough right away will give you a thinner crust, while letting it rise will result is a more thick dough-y crust.

This recipe doubles well without the need to increase the yeast, because hey! Two pizzas are better than one!

The Pizza
Cook the bacon in advance, and reserve the grease for the pizza pan. If possible, use a cast iron pan, they make the best pizza crusts! (I’m sure the bacon grease has nothing to do this this ….. nope, no way)

Make a sauce using fresh tomatoes (or paste/water, if you have no tomatoes handy), onion greens, garlic, herbs, and blend.

Using your hands, shape the dough to your bacon grease coated pan, then bake in a pre-heated oven (350) for about 10 minutes.

Remove and dress your pizza with the bacon and veggies. Do not add the cheese!!!! Pop back into the oven for about another 10 minutes.

Remove once dough has finished cooking, veggies are crisp, and sauce is hot. This is an important step as it avoids the whole soggy vegetable fiasco.

Add grated mozzarella and cheddar, return to oven to broil the cheese layer. Remove from oven and let stand for a few minutes, just to torture your guests.

Then eat, eat, eat!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian with bacon, please

    • That one pregnancy was enough! My midwife was surprise I could even function most days. I’m pretty sure it was because of the bacon.

Leave a Reply

