Not only am I frugal and a princess, I am also a Diva

And being a diva is a lot to live up to!

But before I go on, I’d like to worn the guys and my dad that they may just want to skip this post. Not because it’s inappropriate, but because I’m going to write a wee bit about {{shhhhhh}} feminine protection {{shhhhh}} and how it can be frugal, environmentally friendly, and not at all gross.

I’d also like to say I am not being paid in any way, shape or form. Nor have I been asked to write this. I just love the product that much.

Growing up, the arrival of my period was traumatic – each and every time. I Hated it. Yep. Capital H. I’m old enough that the menstrual pads were large and bulky, but had at least moved past the whole belted thing, so I was crampy, embarrassed, and uncomfortable. Nobody really talked about it and I just used whatever my mom had in the bathroom. I dreaded “that time of the month”; running to public bathrooms, worrying about leaks, and just feeling smelly and unclean.

As I got older, earned my own money, and purchased my own products, I started buying tampons. Life became a little bit easier, but still not great. I was still uncomfortable, there were still leaks, and I had to buy different sizes for different days, not to mention the middle of the night trips to the bathroom to change, and constant stops if I happened to be on a road trip.

It’s sucked and some months was enough to send me into a depression. (hormones anyone?)

When I started moving my lifestyle towards being frugal and environmentally conscience, I tried the washable/reusable pads, but my need to feel clean kept me returning to tampons.

But I hated the ongoing cost and waste associated with tampons.

About 3 years ago, I discovered the Diva Cup. At first I was a little grossed out by the idea but compared to pads or tampons, it was a no brainer.

I picked one up for about 35$. 3 years ago.

I’ll repeat that.

Three years ago. 35$.  One. My period has cost me less than one dollar a month for the past 3 years.

I’ve had no leaks.

There is no smell.

There was minor discomfort the first month as I got use to inserting it properly. I can now do it in my sleep. But not that I have to. You see, unless it is a particularly heavy month, it goes in after my shower in the morning, gets removed, cleaned, and re-inserted before bed.

Yeah.

That’s it. You can wear this puppy for  up to 10 hours if you want. I’ve driven 3 days to Florida, and traveled through India with it.

I’m bringing this up now because Lunapads is having a sale. The cup is 20% off, and I’m thinking that as a princess and Diva, I deserve to spend another 35$ for the next three years.

And so do you.

It’s frugal, it’s green, it’s comfortable. It makes having your period easy, with nothing to worry about in your day to day.

2 thoughts on “Not only am I frugal and a princess, I am also a Diva

Leave a Reply

