Teaching by example, and homemade ice cream

First off, full disclosure. I’m not going to give you a recipe for homemade ice cream.

Why not?

Because I can’t make ice cream and, trust me, I’ve tried. I’ve mostly ended up with homemade goop that sorta tasted ok if you closed your eyes and pretended it was 100 degrees celcius.

And then, not so much.

So why the ice cream reference?

Because someone delivered homemade double chocolate ice cream to my door this morning.

Why?

As a thank you!

You see, it turns out that this friend of mine actually listens to me when I babble and then runs home to try all the things I’ve talked about. Sure, maybe he could of thought a bit more about the application of baking soda to the hair with a brush in the shower; and maybe read up on the ratio of cheese cloth to yogurt prior to squeezing. But he tried it.

And that makes me very happy.

Because after a couple of hours volunteering at the school together, he went home and made yogurt (greek style!), butter (and then after, buttermilk banana bread), and stuck some green onions in a glass of water.

And then when I answered my doorbell at 9 in the morning, he presented me with his homemade double chocolate ice cream.

And that made me happier.

So now I feel justified in all my silly changes and blatherings, for if even one or two people change their habits for the better, life will be good.

Leave a Reply

