Whole Food Challenge, Grade = C+

Well, marginally better.

With week two complete, I am finding lots of opportunities to ‘cheat’, but noticing them more. I am becoming more aware of what we are eating, how I buy it, and what is going into my food. When purchasing chips earlier last week, I found myself feeling guilty, but not in the usual “oh here I go eating junk food again” way, but more in a “well, this food is made of crap, yet here I am, obviously addicted. I should work on that and stop punishing my body” sort of way.

The Good
We coasted a bit on stuff I had made/purchased the previous week (hummus, bacon), but to that I added two loaves of french bread, sweet and sour ribs with rice, yoghurt, yoghurt dip/cheese (seasoned with garlic greens, onion greens, and dill), yummy pizza, ceasar salad, roast chicken, chicken noodle soup, pasta with meat sauce, and a yummy pineapple upside down cake.

None whole items used (that were already in my pantry) were noodles, bacon, dijon, worcestershire sauce.

The Bad
Both “freebies” were used, and early in the week at that! I purchased pesto instead of making it, but committed myself to making a large batch during basil season and freezing it for future use. I also purchased ice cream, as the mercury reached almost 30C and well, hell, it was hot. I don’t think I will make my own ice cream, but one never knows.

(actually, this one knows. ain’t gonna happen)

I also made purchases off my exemptions list, to the tune of cheddar, mozzarella, and soft goats cheese, while making no progress in removing them from the list. Oh well, there is always this week.

The Ugly
Those yummy-nummy chips. And they were good! Also, we ate out one afternoon. Smoked meat poutine was enjoyed by the husband, nachos not so much by me.

———-

I’ve also learned that if I am to have any hope of eventually up-ing my self-imposed grade to a B or higher, I am going to have to embrace the meal plan. So you can look forward to that exciting post later.

Do you use a meal plan? Does it work for you? Any pointers for me?

3 thoughts on “Whole Food Challenge, Grade = C+

  1. I plan the weeks meals on Saturday, by going through the fridge, freezer and pantry and trying to use as many ingredients that we already have as possible. I then list the recipes I’m going to make for the week, and make a grocery list of any items we need to purchase for the week. Saturday I go to the store and buy ONLY the items on the list. It is also helpful if you hang your menu plan on the front of the fridge, and include any prep that needs to be done. Soaking beans, making dough etc.. that way you aren’t scrambling at the last minute.

    I think you’re doing a great job! That sounded more like a B day to me :)

Leave a Reply

