some days you just have to yell, “it’s butter makin’ time!”

Today was, you guessed it, butter making day. Tho, maybe, next time I’ll try to limit the butter eating so as to not have to make butter while making yogurt. The confusion, you know.

I love making butter. Almost as much as I love telling people that I make butter, because, you know. everyone thinks making butter is hard.

Everyone thinks making butter is long.

Everyone thinks I make butter with a wooden churn by candle light.

I am super-woman-butter-maker! Hear me churn!

And I am.

Only.

Not so much.

Why, you may ask, do I make my butter. Well, it’s not for the cost savings. The savings – the way I do  it – are minimal and not really worth the gas, but you could do it for the savings, if that’s the way you bend.

I do it for the freshness. (ok. also so people will call me super-woman-butter-maker. should i get that on a shirt?)

Eating butter made fresh is like having a whole buttery party in your mouth and you’re the only one invited.

Only better.

And I don’t even really like butter.

whipping cream about to be whipped

I start with organic whipping cream. – this is where the not so much savings comes in – I do catch a bit of grief from friends for buying organic dairy, as in Canada there are no antibiotics and such used with dairy cattle. But, who knows what they are fed, I always say!

Also, organic whipping cream is the only whipping cream I can find with no fillers. So if you want your butter to be pure, use organic. If you are doing this for the savings, feel free to buy regular whipping cream; you will still get a fresher taste, and you  may save tonnes of cash if you can buy it on special. Hint: this super fresh butter freezes well.

See my wooden churn! See how much work I have to do to make this butter!

After pouring in the whipping cream and turning on the one speed food processor, stand and stare for a bit. This is going to take some time. maybe even up to 7 minutes of your time. Seven minutes standing there, watching. Frankly, I don’t know how I even manage.

Be patient tho. My thoughts often runs like this ….

Butter! (pre-washing)

ok, here we go …. mmmmmmbutter.  poured it in …. mmmmmmmbutter, oh yeah, on. ok whip baby whip. lalalalalalalalalala. oh! look! whipped cream! maybe i should just stop here and just ….. no! be strong. lalalalalalalalalala …. hey, that doesn’t look right. did i mess it up. oh crap, i messed it up. damn, there goes 8$ worth of organic whipping cream. well, ok . i’ll give it a few more minutes. lalalalalalalalala ……BUTTER!

Seriously. I’m not kidding.

The next step is to pour off the buttermilk, and trust me, this is the best buttermilk you will ever taste. We use it to make pancakes, but please, let me know what recipes you end up using it for.

pouring off fresh buttermilk

Use a wooden spoon to press the butter (in the mixer), pressing off and pouring out as much buttermilk as possible.

Then, wash the butter.

Add coldcoldcoldcoldcold water to your mixer and blend for about 30 seconds. Using your wooden spoon to press the butter, pour off the liquid (butter water?) into your sink or compost collecting container.

Wash the butter again.

Pour off, again.

butter!

Then, using wooden spoons, remove the butter and press out as much liquid as possible while shaping. I use cute little ceramic butter dishes, but if I ever stumble across some old wooden butter forms, watch out!

It’s important to get out as much liquid as possible. The more liquid out, the longer your butter will last on the counter.

I then wrap any extra containers up in waxed paper and toss them in the freezer.

One container will last on the counter for a couple of weeks. And by last, I don’t mean “last”, it gets eaten pretty fast. I mean “not go bad”. The stuff in the freezer is good for a few months.

butter and buttermilk, ready for use

So, for my 8$ of organic whipping cream, I get two containers of butter, and almost 2 cups of buttermilk.

I guess there are some savings after all!

2 thoughts on “some days you just have to yell, “it’s butter makin’ time!”

    • mmmmmmmmcheese! I’ve added stuff to the butter, but unless you are using the buttermilk for something like biscuits, add during the washing, or after the washing to save on ingredients.

Leave a Reply

